The Part(ies) Over….

Friday, Ron Paul announced he would ‘soon wind down’ his candidacy for President.

Ron has a storied past. He ran for President in 1988 against Bush the First as a Libertarian (he got my vote then); he’s since represented his district in Texas for a couple of decades, and has with his departure left a hole the size of the national debt in the hopes and dreams of many of us who wanted a standard-bearer to help us Take Our Country Back.

The five potential candidates who have offered themselves under the Libertarian banner look like Ralph Nader by comparison.

Paul is the Real Deal.

He’s got the sense. He’s got the experience. He’s beholden to no one. People take him seriously – but not seriously enough to run as a Republican, which party is in-thrall to the Neocons, and most likely will be for the near term, at the very least.

On the other hand, the five Libertarian candidates (the party will hold its convention in Denver later this month) simply cannot be taken seriously.

One wants to move the UN to Somalia. Another idolizes “Jimmy the Greek” (the notorious bookmaker). Another would legalize all drugs and abolish the DEA.

I’ve got a radical idea, folks.

How about Ron Paul again, this time as a Libertarian?

(If you think this is a good idea, go the Libertarians’ website and suggest it as a poll. Also, go here – it’s Ron Paul’s website – and suggest he put his hat in the ring.

I’d vote for him – especially considering the competition – from all parties.

10 Responses to The Part(ies) Over….

  1. Anonymous says:

    It’s a crime what the MSM did to his candidacy. The PTB had to get rid of what he represents at all costs.

  2. Anonymous says:

    I voted for him in Michigan’s primary. I’m really sad to hear this Will. He was the only candidate I liked and respected. I don’t like Bob Barr at all. And you’re right, the other Libertarian candidates are too flaky. I truly hope he reconsiders and runs on a third party ticket, he’s got a million plus supporters and we aren’t going away.

    No matter what, I will continue to keep my “Ron Paul for President” lawn sign out.

  3. ____________ says:

    I was going to write him in as my pick anyway, but I will go to that site and HOPE

  4. Reconstituted Teenager says:

    I voted for him in the primaries too. I can’t see any of the three candidates now running doing anything to make changes for the better in our country. Ron Paul should run as a Libertarian, he might as well, because a lot of people will write in their vote for him anyway.

  5. Anonymous says:

    I started out for Kucinich then when he dropped out Edwards. I would vote for Ron Paul if he went independent. It looks like Obama for me though. I would rather have my wood or politicians green not rotten.

  6. Anonymous says:

    I voted for him to run, even though I wouldn’t vote for him in the general election. We need a wide vareity of choices.

  7. Anonymous says:

    Variety, even. Sorry. I also meant to say I would drop by his page and encourage him to run.

  8. Anonymous says:

    I got to vote in the primary, at least. However, it displeases me that all the candidates can’t stay in the primaries until ALL the states have voted…I mean…no matter anything. All the candidates should be on the ballot in the primary for everyone from EVERY state to have the chance to vote.

    I will admit to being politically challenged as to the process. It is obvious though, that according to the rules, and I imagine there is a (good?) reason that candidates bow out of the race before all the states get to even vote in the primary election, there is the custom of “dropping out of the race” after the first few choiced states have voted. What is that about?! Why can’t we ALL vote at the same time in the “primary.” Why doesn’t everyone get the chance to vote in the primary? Sorry, I just don’t get it. I am sure that you have the answer to this one. Feel free to refrain from explaining though…after all…it’s my own fault I don’t know why that is. I am too busy pre-occupied with staying afloat in this economy.

    So, what do you think of the top floater getting the winning vote in your state?

  9. Anonymous says:

    Years ago, Starlight, I used to sail.

    Now, buying a sailboat is a fun thing to do – second only to the day you sell it – but that’s another story….

    I learned a lot of ‘nautica’ through the process – including the origin of the term, “floater”.

    When you flush a toilet at sea, the ‘solids’, as opposed to a normal toilet (which is full of fresh water) are further buoyed by the functionality of salt (every wonder why it’s so easy to swim in salt water? There’s your answer – things are more-buoyant in salt water).

    We called those ‘things’ “floaters”….

    Now, you have a piece of nautica – as well as my answer to your question…..

  10. Anonymous says:

    Hahaha…maybe a little salt water in the economy would help the current recession.

Leave a comment